Interval arithmetic, interpenetration, repositioning

Please don't post Bullet support questions here, use the above forums instead.
michael

Interval arithmetic, interpenetration, repositioning

Post by michael »

Hello all.

I guess this question seems relevant mostly to Redon, but since I'm a newbie I believe almost anyone will be able to resolve my confusion.

1. I use interval arithmetic for continuous collision detection. However, I don't use screwing motion as described by Redon in some of his papers, but rather a trivial axis/angle representation, which seems easier to implement (I simply compute the perpendicular and parallel components of each vertex relative to the axis of rotation, and use the most basic trigonometric equations with interval arithmetic). I wonder why screwing motion is preferable - I'm pretty sure it is, since my implementation is too trivial.

2. Why is it preferable to check whether the point of impact is inside the edge/triangle only after the time of impact (with the infinite line/plane) has been determined? The way I see it, this allows some collisions to be missed. For example, a vertex that's supposed to collide with a triangle might be stopped a little too soon, when the closest point in the plane is still outside the triangle. Why not compute the point of impact continuously with interval arithmetic and stop only when there's no chance of collision?

3. How is repositioning done when the distance at the time of impact is smaller than a certain value (and there are more than 2 bodies)? I'd be grateful if someone could direct me to some relevant papers, preferably ones that don't require a very strong physical background.