BoudingShape for RagDoll demo

vagr

BoudingShape for RagDoll demo

Post by vagr »

Hi I am new to physics simulation.

I saw the ragdoll demo under Bullet engine and it is very interesting. However, after my changing the bounding shape from Capsule to Bounding Box, sometimes, I got the correct Ragdoll effect while some times one or two of characters may show some wired actions such as fly away.

I change the bounding box as following code: basically, capsule is along Y axis so my transformation is that

halfX = r
halfY = height / 2 + r
halfZ = r.

Could anyone tell me why I have to choose capsule (or convex mesh) and box is not correct?

Btw, could anyone recommend some papers or books for Ragdoll? I checked wiki but statement is too simple and just some terms there.

Thanks a lot in advance.
Erwin Coumans
Site Admin

Re: BoudingShape for RagDoll demo

Post by Erwin Coumans »

It might be that the boxes/collision shapes inter-penetrate and that causes instability. Can you try to make the boxes smaller, or disable collisions between them?

Which constraints are you using for the ragdoll? We just fixed a constraint limit issue with the btGeneric6DofConstraint, that might help.
Btw, could anyone recommend some papers or books for Ragdoll? I checked wiki but statement is too simple and just some terms there.
I'm working on a book on real-time rigid body dynamics, and it will include more information on ragdolls. Do you have specific questions?

These are good reads on constraints and rigid body dynamics: Hope this helps,
Erwin
vagr

Post by vagr »

Hi Erwin,

Thanks a lot for your reply!
Erwin Coumans wrote:It might be that the boxes/collision shapes inter-penetrate and that causes instability. Can you try to make the boxes smaller, or disable collisions between them?