an older physics comparison posting at another forum

johan

an older physics comparison posting at another forum

Post by johan »

There is a quite long comparison posting here by IxianEngineer. It mentions features for several physics engines.
http://bookofhook.com/phpBB/viewtopic.php?t=259

xianEngineer wrote: --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

There are several physics engines:
Commercial:
-Havok (H)
-RenderwarePhysics (formely known as Karma from MathEngine) (R)
-Novodex (N)
-Meqon (M)
Free (w/o sources):
-Tokamak (T)
-Newton (PhysicsEngine) (P)
Free (with sources)
-ODE (O)

I worked only with H but even then - I'm not a physics programmer For others, I looked through docs/forums/samples and tried to play a bit (exept R, that I dont know at all). From my little experience, H is the best (but probably most expensive too).
N and M seem to be interesting, they are improving, have companies behind them - with release schedules, support, docs, samples etc. In a few more iterations they might become strong competitors for H (assuming they will be lower priced:)
T and P seem to have some limits that makes them more fit for demos, not complex games. Their docs or samples are not complete and I have no idea when (or if) we can expect improvements.
O is unfortunately does not seem to be usable in its current state, and it's future is IMHO unclear.

So what would I expect from the physics/collision engine (and some comparison of N and T)?

1. dynamic rigid bodies, made of (collection of) simple shapes. Both N and T support box, sphere, capsule, convex. Use of arbitrary triangle meshes as dynamic moving bodies is probably a bad idea anyway - too expensive.