Need guidance for a rigid body inside water simulation

Please don't post Bullet support questions here, use the above forums instead.
fernando

Need guidance for a rigid body inside water simulation

Post by fernando »

I would like to create or use a simulator of a rigid body submersed in water with constant flow.
The rigid body is tied with a rope to a point in the middle of the water so it is always near the observer.
The point and the rope don't disturb the water.
I am searching the web because I don't have an idea how to do that. The quality of the presentation is not very important, I just want the physics simulation.

The rigid body is built in a 3d cad and imported to the simulator. I hope I won't need help with this.

I studied maths many years ago and I work with computers. I have management programing experience.
I want results, not learn a lot of physics and SDK programming. But I can learn new things if necessary.

Any ideas?

Thank you
Fernando
Basroil

Re: Need guidance for a rigid body inside water simulation

Post by Basroil »

For physically accurate representations, you will need to integrate the pressure over the surface area (which includes drag effects, buoyancy, etc, and results in a force vector), then solve the rope inequality (fixed distance or less from the point, or other attachment point if there are obstacles the rope interacts with). The main issue is finding out what that pressure should be, and depends entirely on your fluid solver. This will not be very conductive to real-time gameplay (some GPU based examples exist but require quite of GPU processing power to be realtime), but would be fine for offline simulations.

If you mean to just make something that looks like it's in the water, there are dozens of ways to go about it. A simple one is to treat buoyancy as negative gravity and drag as a damping factor. Not physically accurate, but looks alright.