Trebuchet simulator questions.

Physics APIs, Physics file formats, Maya, Max, XSI, Cinema 4D, Lightwave, Blender, thinkingParticles™ and other simulation tools, exporters and importers
jim frank

Trebuchet simulator questions.

Post by jim frank »

I'm a total newb to Blender and Bullet, so forgive any dumb questions.

I want to model a floating arm trebuchet. It has fairly simple elements; a weight that falls straight down, a lever hinged to the weight, and an axle in the middle of the lever that translates along a horizontal axis as the weight falls.

What I've not found in the few searches I've done so far is a mention of how to translate the rotation point of a long thin object.

Modelling the sling and projectile is a project for a far later date. :D

My ultimate goal is to allow the user to modify most of the variables; the weight of the projectile and the counterweight, the length of fall, the length of the beam, sling, and the location of the axle on the beam.

Any tips, hints, or pointers to tutorials would be greatly appreciated.

What a cool program this is!

Jim

[edit] Right after I posted this, I Googled a page with pretty much exactly what I was looking for. :oops: Oh well, thanks for any replies anyway.
jim frank

Re: Trebuchet simulator questions.

Post by jim frank »

Well. after investigating the model I found, I realized that it doesn't really use the physics engine at all. It just maps a path for the arm of a floating arm trebuchet.

That's not useful for what I want to do.

So I guess I'll just keep tweaking and learning.

Thanks.

Jim
jim frank

Post by jim frank »

OK, I've been tweaking and playing, and I have many more questions than answers.

Is there a detailed explanation on how the "Rigid Body Joint" constraints actually work? They seem to act as a variety of either rigid rods, rubber bands, or bizarre hyperkinetic links that accelerate the constrained object into a whirling helicopterlike mess.